Personal tools
You are here: Home Awards Recipients of the The Iowa Short Fiction Award and John Simmons Short Fiction Awards

Recipients of the The Iowa Short Fiction Award and John Simmons Short Fiction Awards

The short fiction awards are given to a first collection of fiction in English and are administered through the Iowa Writers' Workshop.  The honors are national in scope and have been given since 1969.  The John Simmons Short Fiction Award (named for the first director of the University of Iowa Press) was created in 1988 to complement the existing Iowa Short Fiction Award. The short fiction award winners are published by the University of Iowa Press in the fall of the year. Contact the University of Iowa Press, 319-335-3440.
Read more about the award

  • 2014

    Heather A. Slomski, The Lovers Set Down Their Spoons

    Kathleen Founds, Mystical Creatures Attack!

  • 2013

    Tessa Mella, Lungs Full of Noise

    Kate Milliken, If I'd Known You Were Coming

  • 2012

  • Marie-Helene Bertino, Safe as Houses

    Chad Simpson, Tell Everyone I Said Hi

  • 2011

    Will Boast, Power Ballads

    Josh Rolnick Pulp and Paper

  • 2010

    Marilène Phipps-Kettlewell, The Company of Heaven: Stories from Haiti.

    Barbara Hamby, Lester Higata's 20th Century

  • 2009

    Kathryn Ma, All That Work and Still No Boys.

    Jennine Capo Crucet, How to Leave Hialeah: Stories from the Heart of Miami.

      • 2008
        Glen Pourciau, Invite.

        Molly McNett, One Dog Happy

      • 2007
        Don Waters, Desert Gothic.

        Lee Montgomery, Whose World Is This?

      • 2006
        Jim Tomlinson, Things Kept, Things Left Behind.
        Kevin Moffett, Permanent Visitors.
      • 2005
        Doug Trevor, The Thin Tear in the Fabric of Space.
        Anthony Varallo, This Day in History.
      • 2004
        Janet Desaulniers, What You've Been Missing.
        Merrill Feitell, Here Beneath Low-Flying Planes.
      • 2003
        Ryan Harty, Bring Me Your Saddest Arizona.
        Beth Helms, American Wives.
      • 2002
        Jennifer S. Davis, Her Kind of Want.
        Laura Valeri, The Kind of Things Saints Do.
      • 2001
        Ticket to Minto: Stories of India and America
        Donald Anderson, Fire Road.
      • 2000
        Elizabeth Oness, Articles of Faith.
        John McNally, Troublemakers.
      • 1999
        Nancy Reisman, House Fires.
        Thisbe Nissenn, Out of the Girls' Room and into the Night.
      • 1998
        Kathryn Chetkovich, Friendly Fire.
        Mark Brazaitis, The River of Lost Voices: Stories from Guatemala.
      • 1997
        Jim Henry, Thank You for Being Concerned and Sensitive.
        Lisa Lenzo, Within the Lighted City.
      • 1996
        David Borofka, Hints of His Mortality.
        Don Zancanella, Western Electric.
      • 1995
        Charles Wyatt, Listening to Mozart.
        Tereze Gluck, May You Live in Interesting Times.
      • 1994
        Susan Onthank Mates, The Good Doctor.
        Rod Val Moore, Igloo among Palms.
      • 1993
        Ann Harleman, Happiness.
        Lex Williford, Macauley's Thumb.
        Renee Manfredi, Where Love Leaves Us.
      • 1992
        Elizabeth Searle, My Body to You.
        Enid Shomer, Imaginary Men.
      • 1991
        Elizabeth Harris, The Ant Generator.
        Sondra Spatt Olsen, Traps.
      • 1990
        Mary Swick, A Hole in the Language.
      • 1989
        Starkey Flythe, Jr., Lent: The Slow Fast.
        Miles Wilson, Line of Fall.
      • 1988
        Sharon Dilworth, The Long White.
        Michael Pritchett, The Venus Tree.
      • 1987
        Abby Frucht, Fruit of the Month.
        Lucia Nevai, Star Game.
      • 1986
        Dan O'Brien, Eminent Domain.
        Russell Working, Resurrectionists.
      • 1985
        Robert Boswell, Dancing in the Movies.
      • 1984
        Susan M. Dodd, Old Wives' Tales.
      • 1983
        Ivy Goodman, Heart Failure.
      • 1982
        Dianne Benedict, Shiny Objects.
      • 1981
        Annabel Thomas, The Phototropic Woman.
      • 1980
        James Fetler, Impossible Appetites.
      • 1979
        Mary Hedin, Fly Away Home.
      • 1978
        Lon Otto, A Nest of Hooks.
      • 1977
        Pat Carr, The Women in the Mirror.
      • 1976
        C. E. Poverman, The Black Velvet Girl.
      • 1975
        Barry Targan, Harry Belten and the Mendelssohn Violin Concerto.
      • 1974
        Natalie L. M. Petesch, After the First Death There Is No Other.
      • 1973
        H. E. Francis, The Itinerary of Beggars.
      • 1972
        Jack Cady, The Burning and Other Stories.
      • 1971
        Philip F. O'Connor, Old Morals, Small Continents, Darker Times.
      • 1970
        Cyrus Colter, The Beach Umbrella.

Document Actions