Personal tools
You are here: Home Awards Recipients of the Truman Capote Award for Literary Criticism

Recipients of the Truman Capote Award for Literary Criticism

2014.  Fredric Jameson, The Antinomies of Realism.

2013.  Marina Warner, Stranger Magic: Charmed States and the Arabian Nights.

2012. Elaine Showalter, A Jury of Her Peers:  American Women Writers From Anne Bradstreet to Annie Proulx.

2011.  Mark McGurl, The Program Era: Postwar Fiction and the Rise of Creative Writing.

2010.  Seth Lerer, Children's Literature: A Reader's History from Aesop to Harry Potter.

2009.  Geoffrey Hill, Critical Writings.

2008.  Helen Small, The Long Life.

2007.  William H. Gass, A Temple of Texts.

2006.  Geoffrey Hartman and Daniel T. O'Hara, The Geoffrey Hartman Reader.

2005.  Angus Fletcher, A New Theory for American Poetry.

2004.  Susan Stewart, Poetry and the Fate of the Senses.

2003.  Seamus Heaney, Finders Keepers: Selected Prose, 1971-2001.

2002.  Declan Kiberd, Irish Classics.

2001.  Malcolm Bowie, Proust Among the Stars.

2000.  Elaine Scarry, Dreaming by the Book and Philip Fisher,  Still the New World: American Literature in a Culture of Creative Destruction.

1999. Charles Rosen, Romantic Poets, Critics, and Other Madmen.

1998.  John Kerrigan, Revenge Tragedy: Aeschylus to Armageddon.

1997.  John Felstiner, Paul Celan: Poet, Survivor, Jew.

1996.  Helen Vendler, The Given and the Made: Strategies of Poetic Redefinition.

Document Actions